Bhutan Cricket Council Board

Get Inspired ! Play More!

The Bhutan national cricket team represents the country of Bhutan in international cricket matches. The team is organised by the Bhutan Cricket Council Board, which became an affiliate member of the International Cricket Council (ICC) in 2001. Bhutan made its international debut in 2003, at the Emerging Nations Tournament organised by the Asian Cricket Council (ACC). The team has since regularly participated in ACC tournaments, and also in two World Cricket League events, WCL Division Eight in 2010 and 2012.

Bhutan Cricket Council Board became an affiliate member of the ICC in 2001. They made their ACC Trophy debut at the 2004 tournament, where they made the quarter finals.

They again competed at the ACC Trophy in 2006 but were eliminated in the first round after a series of heavy defeats. Their only win came against newcomers Myanmar.

Following the 2006 ACC Trophy, the tournament was split into two divisions: Elite and Challenge. Bhutan took part in the 2009 ACC Trophy Challenge, where they were runners up. This result qualified them for the next ACC Trophy Elite as well as Division Eight of the World Cricket League.

Current Squad

The following table lists the players in the Bhutan squad for the 2014 Asian Cricket Council Elite League:

  • Jigme Singye (c)
  • Manoj Adhikari (wk)
  • Sanjog Chhetri
  • Sanjeevan Gurung
  • Thinley Jamtsho
  • Kinley Penjor
  • Suprit Pradhan
  • Dilip Subba
  • Suman Pradhan
  • Sonam Tobgay
  • Tashi Tshering
  • Tenzin Wangchuk
  • Phuntsho Wangdi
  • Lobzang Yonten

Tournament History

World Cricket League

  • 2010 Division Eight: 7th place – relegated
  • 2012 Division Eight: 8th place – relegated

ACC Trophy

  • 2004: Quarter finals
  • 2006: 13th place
  • 2010 Elite: 8th place

ACC Trophy Challenge

  • 2009: 2nd place

In December 2011 took part in the ACC Twenty20 Cup in Nepal which served as qualifier for 2012 ICC World Twenty20.